Skip to main content
McFarlin Special Collections Logo

Tulsa Race Massacre materials at McFarlin Library: A Listing

A pathfinder to gather together Race Riot and Massacre materials.

Introduction

The University of Tulsa, McFarlin Library, has a large variety of materials regarding the Tulsa Race Massacre, known historically as the Tulsa Race Riot, as well as other less known terms. Unfortunately wading through the various databases (bibliographic, archival, and digital) can be confusing for researchers.  This guide is an attempt to draw those materials into a more easily accessed format.

Unpublished Works

Tulsa Race Riot of 1921 archive, 1920-2007. Identifier: 1989-004
An artificial collection comprised of research materials from a variety of sources, including recordings, photographs.  Please be aware that physical access to the originals of some materials, such as the photographs, is restricted due to age and damage.  Surrogates are available.

William M. O'Brien research papers, 1921-2000. Identifier: 2009-052
The research materials of William M. O'Brien, local historian. Please note these are not processed.

A Song of Greenwood ephemera. Identifier: 2005-009. 
A poster and script for a musical.

Sarah Blackwood family and Tulsa race riot photographs, 1908-1921. Identifier: 2010-076.
Photographs taken by James Swinney.  The photos of the burning have been moved to the Tulsa Race Riot Collection.

Shofner family ephemera, 1930s-1973. Identifier: 2014-075
Includes a report written in 1973 by a Junior High School student interviewing her grandparents.

Barbara Santee archive of Oklahoma women's reproductive rights and ancillary materials, Undated.  Identifier: 2015-039
Santee researched a number of other topics, including the Massacre.

Francis Albert Schmidt scrapbooks, 1911-1922. Identifier: 1979-017
Four scrapbooks of photographs taken by Francis A. Schmidt, football coach at Henry Kendall College.  The photos of the events have been moved to the Tulsa Race Riot Collection.

Samuel Grant Kennedy, 1890-1970.  Identifier: 1990-002
Materials collection on the history of Tulsa by an early pioneer.

 

Published Works - Newspapers

The Baltimore News v.99, no.28 (Jun. 1, 1921) (F189.B1 B35 Folio)

Los Angeles Evening Express. v.51, no.57 (June 1, 1921) (F869.L8 L67 Folio)

Tulsa Tribune (Microfilm (Newspaper))

Tulsa World (Microfilm (Newspaper))

Published Works - Other

A Conspiracy Of Silence The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921. Washington, D.C. National Public Radio, Education Services 1981, c1980. (F704.T92 C65 1980)

Before They Die The Story Of The Survivors Of The Tulsa Race Riot 1921  [Videorecording] : [S.I.] : Mportant Films, c2008. (F704.T92 B44 2008 DVD)

Black Wall Street Merchants' Association.  Black Wall Street, Tulsa.  [Videorecording] [Oakland, CA] : Phoenix Media Studios, c2007. (F704.T92 B52 2007 DVD)

Burn The Evolution Of An American City. [Videorecording] [United States] : Salt2Light Productions, 2011. (F704.T92 B86 2011 DVD Undrsz)

The Greenwood blues [videorecording] : the Tulsa race war of 1921. Oklahoma City: KOCO TV 5 Alive, 1983. (F704.T92 G733 1983 Videorecording)

The Night Tulsa Burned.  [Videorecording]  (Produced By Weller/Grossman Productions For The History Channel) New York, NY : A & E Television Networks : Distributed in the U.S. by New Video Group, c1999. (F704.T92 N544 1999 Videorecording)

Tulsa Burning. [Videorecording].  [New York] : CBS Video, c1999. (F704.T92 T815 1999 Videorecording)

Oklahoma Historical Society Research Division. The Tulsa Race Riot of 1921: Tulsa, Oklahoma. [microform]. Oklahoma City : Oklahoma Historical Society, 2002. (Microfilm M No.00398  OHS 201)

Miscellaneous

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey (Musical group). The race riot suite. Tulsa, OK : Kinnara Records, [2011] (M1366.J33 R33 2011 Compact Disc)

Published Works - Books (Non-Fiction)

Barrett, Charles Franklin, 1861- Oklahoma After Fifty Years : A History Of The Sooner State And Its People, 1889-1939 ... A Narrative. Hopkinsville, Ky. ; Oklahoma City, Okl. : The Historical Record Association, 1941. (F694 .B37 1941)

Brophy, Alfred L. Reconstructing The Dreamland : The Tulsa Riot Of 1921 : Race, Reparations, And Reconciliation.  Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. (F704.T92 B76 2002)

Douglas, Clarence B. The history of Tulsa, Oklahoma: a city with a personality... Chicago, Clarke, 1921. (F704.T92 D68 1921)

Ellsworth, Scott. Death In A Promised Land : The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921. Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, c1982. (F704.T92 E44 1982)

Ellsworth, Scott. Death In A Promised Land : The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921. Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, 1992. (F704.T92 E44 1992)

Forrester-Sellers, Julia. The 1921 Tulsa Race Riot And The Politics Of Memory. Thesis (M.A.)--University of Tulsa, 2000. (Microfilm T no.01340; GN25.99 .F67 2000)

Franklin, John Hope. The Tulsa Race Riot : A Scientific, Historical And Legal Analysis.  [Okla.? : s.n.], 2000. (F704.T92 F73 2000)

Gates, Eddie Faye.  Riot On Greenwood: The Total Destruction Of Black Wall Street, 1921. Tulsa, Okla. : Out on a Limb Publishing, 2006. (F704.T92 G38 2006)

Gill, Loren L.  The Tulsa Race Riot. Thesis (M.A.)--University of Tulsa, 1946. (C40.99 .G54 1946)

Golden Jubilee, 1905-1957 : Vernon African Methodist Episcopal Church.  Tulsa, Okla. Oklahoma Eagle Publishing 1957.  (BX8444.T8 G65 1957)

Halliburton, R. The Tulsa race war of 1921.San Francisco : R and E Research Associates, 1975.(F704.T92 H34 1975)

Hirsch, James S. Riot And Remembrance : The Tulsa Race War And Its Legacy. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2002. (F704.T92 R56 2002)

Hower, Robert N. 1921 Tulsa Race Riot And The American Red Cross, "Angels Of Mercy". Tulsa, Okla. : Homestead Press, c1993. (F704.T92 H69 1993)

Madigan, Tim. The Burning : Massacre, Destruction, And The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921. New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2001. (F704.T92 M33 2001)

Messer, Christopher Michael.  The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921 : Determining Its Causes And Framing. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Oklahoma State University, 2008. (F704.T92 M47 2008)

National Conference for Community and Justice.  Racial Reconciliation Project : Final Report (January 2003). Tulsa, Okla. : National Conference for Community and Justice, Tulsa Region, [2003]. (F704.T92 N382 2003)

National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior.  1921 Tulsa Race Riot Reconnaissance Survey: Final.  [S.l. : s.n.], 2005. (F704.T92 N38 2005a)

Norcom, Abner H.  As It Was. [Dallas, Tex. Abner H. Norcom 1982] (F704.T92 N67 1982)  

Norris, Robert D.  The Oklahoma National Guard And The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921: A Historical, Tactical And Legal Analysis. Tulsa : [s.n.], [2003] (F704.T92 N67 2003)           

O'Brien, William M.  Who Speaks For Us? : The Responsible Citizens Of Tulsa In 1921.  Jenks (Okla.) : William M. O'Brien, 2002. (F704.T92 O269 2002)

Oklahoma Commission to Study the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921. Tulsa Race Riot: A Report. [Oklahoma City, OK.] : The Commission, [2001]. (H2500.3 T924r 2001, F704.T92 O39 2001)

Parrish, Mary E. Jones.  Events Of The Tulsa Disaster. [Tulsa?, Okla. s.n. 1922?] (F704.T92 P37 1922)

Parrish, Mary E. Jones. An Eye-Witness Account Of The 1921 Tulsa Race Riot. [Tulsa, Okla.] : s.n., 2009. (F704.T92 P27 2009)   A facsimile of Events of the Tulsa Disaster.

Parrish, Mary E. Jones. Race Riot 1921 : Events Of The Tulsa Disaster. Tulsa, Okla. : Out on a Limb Publishing, c1998. (F704.T92 P37 1998)  A reprint of Events of the Tulsa Disaster.

Reporting : The Tulsa Riots 1921. St. Paul, MN : Archive of American Journalism, c2018. (F704.T92 R47 2018)

The Disaster Of The 1921 Race Riot.  Tulsa : Oklahoma Impact Magazine, Inc., 1971. (F704.T9 I43 1971)

The Riot -- Cause And Effect. Tulsa, Okla.: Tulsa Chamber of Commerce, 1921. The Tulsa Spirit ; v. 6, no. 11 (July 1921) Pasted in the Samuel Grant Kennedy Scrapbook (Coll. No. 1990.002.1)

Thompson, Don. Hush, Somebody's Callin' My Name : A Photographic Essay Of Survival, Resilience And Perseverance.  Tulsa, Okla. : Don Thompson : Holbrook Printing Co., c2008. (F704.T92 T46 2008)

Tracy, Marjorie Ann. The Tulsa Race Riot Of 1921 : The Politics Of Lawlessness. Thesis (M.A.)--University of Tulsa, 1996. (C40.99 .T7 1996)

Trekell, Ronald L. History Of The Tulsa Police Department, 1882-1990.  [S.l. s.n. 1989] (HV8148.T84 T73 1989)

Warner, Ross T. Oklahoma Boy : An Autobiography.  [Tulsa, Okla.] : Privately published, 1968. (CT275.W2855 A3 1968b)

Williams, Lee E., 1914-  Anatomy Of Four Race Riots : Racial Conflict In Knoxville, Elaine (Arkansas), Tulsa, And Chicago, 1919-1921.  [Hattiesburg] : University and College Press of Mississippi, 1972. (E185.61 .W736 1972)