Skip to main content
McFarlin Special Collections Logo

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

2008- . Today and Tomorrow

2008

  • The Reference Desk is moved to the Main Level hallway.
  • The Library begins it's search for an offsite storage site.
  • Francine Fisk becomes the Associate Dean of the Library.

September

  • The Bob McCormack Photographic Studio Archive and Camera Collection are acquired by Special Collections.
  • The Harriet Barclay papers addendum is acquired.
  • The Library gains the Hardesty Remote Storage Facility, and begins to move overflow storage there.

2009

  • The Library opens its new offsite storage facility.

November

  • The Library celebrates the unveiling of the new Pauline M. Walter Academic Technology Labs, the Cort & Martha Dietler Cafe, the Greg Gray Commons, the Francis O'Hornett Grand Foyer, the Ann Be Graves Faculty Study, as well as the redecorated Student Study, and the former North and South Labs being returned to their original purpose as student reading rooms.

2010

  • Charles Brooks served as OLA president while a TU librarian.

January

  • The library's website is merged into the University Content Management System.

June

  • The Rupert Hart Davis library cataloging project is completed (substantial completion occurred earlier in the year and the cataloging department moved onto other projects)

July

  • The Special Collections' website is merged into the University Content Management System.
  • The Library purchases a vehicle for transport between the main building and the offsite storage facility.
  • Arkansas Basin Development Association, 2010 addendum is acquired.

2011

  • Charles Brooks received the OLA Meritorious Service Award.

2012

2013

  • The historical Collegians are digitized and put online.

2014

2015

  • HVAC upgrade in 1966 wing.

2016

Fall

2017

September

  • The Department of Special Collections and University Archives inaugurates the new ArchivesSpace Archival Catalog.

December

2018

May

  • The library's website is removed from the University Content Management System.
  • The Special Collections' website is removed from the University Content Management System.

2019

January

  • 30th - Petroleum Abstracts Document Delivery service/TUCopy closed.

May

  • Marc Carlson is retitled the Head of Special Collections and University Archives.

December

  • Marc Carlson is retitled the Director of Special Collections and University Archives as part of the restructuring of the Management level teams.
  • Steve Nobles retires as the Head of Acquisitions..

2020

January

  • 27th The new Director Public Services, April Schweikhard, begins.

February

  • 3rd.  Ann Blakely retires as Head of Access Services,  Francine Fisk retires as Associate Dean of McFarlin Library.  Elizabeth Szkirpan begins as  Director of Bibliographic Services.