Skip to main content
McFarlin Special Collections Logo

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

Advice for Visitors

We welcome your visit to the Department of Special Collections Collections and University Archives. To make your visit as time efficient and comfortable as possible, may we suggest that you:

While it is not always required, consider contacting us and scheduling your visit in advance. If we know what materials you wish to use, we can usually have these materials pulled and ready to go when you arrive. Please note, some of our materials are housed offsite so we cannot guarantee same day access for all our materials.

A Book Request form must be filled out for each item found in the McFarlin Library catalog. For manuscripts and other materials, a Reader’s Registration Form must be completed for each collection you wish to access. These forms can be sent to us by fax, mail, or email, or you can present them upon your arrival.

You may use a laptop, PDA, electronic tablet, or pencil and paper in the Reading Room. Cell phones are only allowed for note taking and photography.  Pens and hi-lighters are not allowed under any circumstances. No other materials are allowed in the Reading Room without the permission of the Librarian of Special Collections. Lockers are provided to secure your personal items while you are doing your research.

The Reading Room can be sometimes chilly and sometimes warm, regardless of the season, so we suggest dressing in layers.

Accommodations

We regret that, at present, The University of Tulsa does not have on-campus housing for visiting scholars. Visit the Tulsa Convention & Visitors Bureau or other online sources for accommodations and restaurants in the Tulsa area.

Location

The Department of Special Collections and University Archives is on the 5th Floor of McFarlin Library.  On the map below the circle indicates the location of the library, the blue boxes are visitor parking.  A more interactive map can be found at this location.