This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote  

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013 URL: http://utulsa.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is EndNote?

EndNote is "Citation Management" software and the researcher's best friend.

With EndNote you may:

  • download bibliographic citations from indexes like those on EBSCOhost and from the library catalog
  • manage these downloaded citations in a database
  • format the citations in your preferred style (e.g. MLA, APA, etc.)
  • and insert them into a document as footnotes and references
 

Getting Endnote

The latest Windows and Mac versions of Endnote are available via Harvey. First, go to Harvey and log in with your UTULSA account.

Then, click on Support and Services in the upper right corner. That's where Endnote lives.

Open the .zip file and copy the two files — install (ENX7Inst.msi) and license (License.dat) — files to the same folder.

Note: If you are currently running older versions of Endnote, make sure to copy the new Endnote files into the same folder location as your existing Endnote library.data folder. Doing so should automatically keep all of your citations intact in the new version. Of course, you should back up your Endnote library.data folder before attempting the upgrade. If you have any questions about upgrading Endnote or backing up your citations, please ask a librarian for assistance.

Run the ENX7Inst.msi to install the EndNote software.

 

EndNote Web

If you cannot download EndNote for any reason, consider using EndNote Web. It can still be used in conjunction with MS Word's Cite While You Write feature, and you can access your citations anywhere you have internet access.

Note: EndNote Web is a good way to sync your saved citations across multiple devices. It is NOT a good idea to save your EndNote library to a Dropbox folder or remote server. This will very likely render your citation library unreadable to EndNote.

In order to use EndNote Web, you must first create an account:

  1. Go to EndNote Web's webpage
  2. Click on the "Sign Up" link
  3. Enter your email
  4. Fill in the required information and click the "I Agree" button
  5. You have now created an account with EndNote Web
  6. A "Getting Started Guide" should appear
 

Specific Databases

Endnote with MLA:

  1. After viewing folder contents, click "Save to Disk".
  2. Click into the Bibliographic Manager,
  3. Choose "Citations in Direct Export format" or "Citations in a format that can be uploaded to bibliographic management software." If you choose the latter, save the file as plain text. To preserve accented characters, choose the appropriate encoding and text translation options along the way.

Endnote with JSTOR:

If you are only dealing with a few JSTOR articles look for the "Export Citation" option. You may then save it or open it directly in Endnote.

If you're planning on doing extensive research in JSTOR, you may want to first create a free MyJSTOR account. In this case:

  1. Log into your MyJSTOR account.
  2. Select the articles you wish to export, then click on "Save Citation."
  3. Click on the "Saved Citations" link in the upper right corner of the screen.
  4. Choose any or all of the saved citations for export, then click on the "Export article citations" button.
  5. Click "EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager (download RIS file)."

 

Older Versions and Upgrading

If you are upgrading from an older version of Endnote backup all your Endnote Libraries in a separate hard disk before you proceed with installation. If you have any customised output styles (files with .ens extension), you'll need to back them up too.

If you have an earlier version of Endnote, you should delete the earlier version AFTER you install the latest version.

(Earlier Endnote versions for Windows)



1.  Go to the IT webpage.

2.  Choose the "Software Downloads" link under Quick Links.

3.  Login using your username and password.

4.  Click on either "Endnote X4.0.2 for MacOS X" if you are using a Mac, or "Endnote X5 for Windows" for Windows operating systems. Mac users, your instructions will continue below.

5.  Find the EndNote icon on the computer and double click it to install.

6.  Click the "Save" option and save Endnote to the desktop.

7.  Once the download is complete, click on the "Endnote" icon that will appear on the desktop.

     a. Three files should appear: the License, the Readme, and the Endnote instalation file - the files will be zipped.

     b.  If only two files appear, move the Endnote icon to the "Recycle Bin" and download Endnote again.

8.  Once Endnote lists the three files, click on the "Extract" button (located at the top of the screen)

9.  Another window will open, and the "Extract" button (located at the lower right) will need to be clicked - Extract will unzip the files.

10. Now open Microsoft Word

      a. "Endnote" will now be one of the tabs options listed along the top of the screen.

(Earlier Endnote versions for Mac)



1.  Following steps 1-4 above, double click the disk image that appears on your desktop. This should be a .dmg file.

2.  You will see an Endnote application bundle and an icon for your applications folder. Simply drag and drop the bundle into the applications folder.

3.  During the installation process you will see a prompt to create an Endnote library. If you are creating a new one, make sure that you check the box for "save as a package".

     a. Always make sure that you save Endnote libraries to your hardrive. Never save Endnote libraries to your "Filer" personal disk space on

      the campus web server.

     b.  If you do not save as a package you risk losing your Endnote library and all your saved citations.

4.  Look in "My Documents" to verify that you have an Endnote Library file (.enl) an Endnote Library Package file (.enlp) and a Endnote Library folder. In order for the software to function properly on a Mac this collection of files must remain together in the same directory.

 

Cite While You Write

 

Endnote with Ebsco and a Mac

When you export your citations to your computer, you may not see them appear in your library. If this happens, try one of the following options:

  • Find the "Delivery file" in Finder.
  • Drag a copy to the Endnote icon on the dock.

OR

  • You can open Endnote.
  • Open your Library.
  • Under File, click on Import.
  • Find your document in the Downloads folder.
  • Click on it to import it into your library.
 

How to use Endnote

How to use EndNote

(Note: these instructions were tested using Microsoft Word 2007. Slight variations may occur with other versions. If this guide isn't helping, you may need to ask a librarian for assistance.)

1. Go to a database and search for your topic.

2. Choose the articles needed and click the "Add to Folder" icon or choose all the articles on the page by clicking the Add(1-10) icon.

3. At the top of the page, the folder icon should be full.

4. Click the folder icon.

5. There are four icons on the page and the last one is the "Export" icon.

6. Click the "Export" icon.

7. The default selection is the one to choose and then click Save.

8. EndNote should open and the articles should populate the EndNote library.

9. Open Microsoft Word.

10. The EndNote tab is located at the top of the page between "Add-ins" and "Acrobat."

11. Click on the location to place the citation.

12. Click the EndNote icon and click "Insert Citation" and select "Find Citation."

13. Search for the author, title, etc. to find the desired article.

14. Double click on the desired article.

15. A reference to the article will be placed in the term paper and a bibliography will be created below the term paper.

Tips for Mac users...

After installing Endnote for the very first time, open a blank MS Word document and locate the Endnote tool menu from "Tools".

Additionally, have the Endnote toolbar shown in Word menu: go to View > Toolbars >Endnote X5

In Word, go to Preferences > View. See that "Field codes" is unchecked, and "Field Shading" is shown "Always". Doing this will render any text in your Word document that is linked to an Endnote library with a shaded background.

 

Need more help?

Help using EndNote is available from these sources:

  1. When you install EndNote you will also install a PDF manual. It should answer just about any question you have.
  2. The EndNote website has lots of information.
  3. Contact the McFarlin Reference Desk at 918-631-2880. Librarians have been trained in using EndNote.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip