Dr. Buoye's classHistory 3903History 5723/7723
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

A guide to online and print sources available through McFarlin Library
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://utulsa.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Book Reviews             Print Page
  
 
 

Book Reviews

Book reviews provide descriptions and evaluations of published works. Reviews should place the book in the framework of the subject in general and possibly, other books on the topic.

Sources of book reviews

Online full text

JSTOR 

New York Times, Historical (1851-3 years ago)

New York Times Book Review  (2000-to date)

EBSCOhost      You may choose one or more databases to cross-search depending on the topic of your book. While some of these databases are indexes/abstracts, they may link to other available full text 

  •       Academic Search Complete
  •       America: History and Life (United States and Canada)**
  •       American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
  •       Communication and Mass Media Complete
  •       Film & Television Literature Index with full text
  •       Historical Abstracts (World, except US and Canada)**
  •       Humanities International Complete
  •       International Political Science Abstracts
  •       Newspaper Source

Project Muse

Books in Print 

H-Net Reviews

The Unexpected

Amazon

      Amazon will often tell you who the author is, books that cite your 

   book, editorial comments you can research further.

Google Scholar

 

 

Print resources

Book review digest (1922- ) Ref Z1035.A1 B58

Book review index   (1965- ) Ref Z1035.A1 B6

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974 Z1035.A1 C6

Index to book reviews in historical periodicals (1972-1976) D20.B73

Index to book reviews in the humanities (1960-1987) Z1035.A1 I63

Other book review resources can be found by checking the Library's catalog for book reviews under a general subject search, eg. History - Book reviews.

Tips

Use the publication date as a reference point on looking for reviews. For the most part, general reviews will appear within the first few months of publication. Scholarly reviews may take up to year or more to appear.

Use the publication date of the hardback edition if you have a paperback which was published later.

In some cases, a book may have been published earlier in another country under a different title.

When searching online databases it may help to:

  •       Type the name of the book in quotation marks
  •         Add the author as a search term
  •         Limit the search to book reviews if this option is available. 

 

      

   

 

 

Need Help?

Andy Lupardus
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait