CINAHL VideoFind More ArticlesGoogle ScholarIntroduction to EBSCOhost 2.0
DownloadingGetting StartedImporting from the CatalogSaving Citations from EBSCOhostWriting a Term Paper
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Nursing: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources 

This Nursing Research Guide will introduce you to the sources available at McFarlin Library for conducting research in the Nursing and Allied Health field.
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://utulsa.libguides.com/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Articles            Print Page
  
 

CINAHL - Introduction

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL is an acronym for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It is one of the most significant sources for finding scholarly research articles in nursing and related fields, such as emergency services, dental hygiene, physician's assistant, athletic training, speech-language pathology, etc.

Click the links below for quick video introductions from EBSCOhost on searching the CINAHL database and using the EBSCOhost search interface. Length: about 5 minutes.

Here are two PowerPoint introductions to CINAHL:

 

Best Databases for Nursing Research

Here are the best sources for finding articles in nursing-related academic journals:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
    The primary resource for locating articles in the professional and research literature of nursing. Learn more about CINAHL in the box on the left.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  
      
    This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide and provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Medical Databases

  • MEDLINE  
      
    MEDLINE with MeSH provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
  • PubMed  
      
    The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE.
 
 

Library Databases

When accessing library databases from off campus you will be prompted to enter your name and TU ID number. These resources are only available to currently enrolled students.

If you are unable to locate the articles you need with these resources, please feel free to contact the McFarlin Library Reference Desk.

 

Nursing Journals

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait