CINAHL VideoFind More ArticlesGoogle ScholarIntroduction to EBSCOhost 2.0
DownloadingGetting StartedImporting from the CatalogSaving Citations from EBSCOhostWriting a Term Paper
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Nursing: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources 

This Nursing Research Guide will introduce you to the sources available at McFarlin Library for conducting research in the Nursing and Allied Health field.
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://utulsa.libguides.com/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Google Scholar            Print Page
  
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

McFarlin Library participates in the Google Scholar "Library Links" feature.  When searching Google Scholar on the TU campus you will see links that say "Get from McFarlin Library", if the item is an article, and "Get in Print at McFarlin", if the item is a book.  Clicking on those links will take you to a McFarlin Library screen that will provide information on how to get a copy of the item from the library.

Information on how to set this up off-campus, as well as more about Google Scholar in general, is available in the box below.

 

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a version of the Google search engine that searches the web for scholarly publications (including articles and books).  The focus is on providing access to peer-reviewed journals that are available online from the publisher.  (Google Scholar cannot access proprietary databases such as EBSCOhost.  You will need to use the database itself or consider Research Pro if you need to do that.)

Google provides links to the articles it finds, usually on the publisher's website.  You will be able to access the full text of the article if:

  1. the article is freely available
  2. McFarlin Library subscribes to the journal online and you are on the TU campus

You will not be able to access the full text if:

  1. McFarlin Library does not subscribe to the journal online
  2. McFarlin subscribes to the journal online and you are off-campus
  3. McFarlin has access to the journal online through a proprietary database (such as EBSCOhost, JSTOR, Project Muse, etc.)

Library Links

McFarlin participates in Google Scholar's "Library Links" feature which should link you to the full text of an article (if the library subscribes or has access through another database) or to the availability of a book at the library.

This works automatically if you're on campus.

To use this feature off campus you'll need to set up your Scholar preferences.  Instructions for doing so are here.

 
 

Another Option

Go to Research Pro

One of the drawbacks of Google Scholar is its inability to search "proprietary" databases, that is, databases owned by private companies which charge for their use.  A solution to this problem is Research Pro.  Research Pro is McFarlin Library's federated or cross-database search engine.  It is able to search many of the proprietary databases to which McFarlin Library subscribes.  In fact, it can search several of these databases simultaneously.  This makes Research Pro potentially invaluable in helping you to identify the most appropriate resources to use in your research project.

The Research Pro LibGuide provides more information about this resource.

Please note that Research Pro is only available to currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty/staff of TU.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait